“I am woman, hear me roar…”

June 30, 1966 –  Betty Friedan and 27 other woman form the National Organization of Women in Washington, DC.  Friedan, author of The Feminine Mystique wrote the organization’s Statement of Purpose on a napkin:  “To take action to bring women into full participation in the mainstream of American society now, exercising all privileges and responsibilities thereof in truly equal partnership with men.”  In 1970, Helen Ready co-wrote what many consider to be the anthem for the “Woman’s Liberation Movement”.  It reached #1 in December 1972:

I am woman, hear me roar
In numbers too big to ignore
And I know too much to go back and pretend
‘Cause I’ve heard it all before
And I’ve been down there on the floor
No one’s ever going to keep me down again

Whoa, yes, I am wise
But it’s wisdom born of pain
Yes, I’ve paid the price
But look how much I gained
If I have to, I can do anything
I am strong (strong)
I am invincible (invincible)
I am woman …..

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

